Uncategorized
Comments 5

Table Top Redux

Refinished Coffee Table

Inspired by last week’s dresser-to-entertainment center project, we decided to spruce up our coffee table and end tables to match.

Old end table

I wish I had more “before” photos of the coffee table (lack of planning on my part), but here’s a picture of our hideous end table. I originally thought about doing one solid piece for the tops, but decided to try my hand at making farm-house style table tops. Which ended up being a good call. The table turned out great, and it was so easy. As long as you have the right tools, anyone could make these table tops.

Topless

I started by removing the old tops. The end tables put up quite a fight (with all the glue), but with an oscillating saw and a crowbar, we got it done.

Pocket holes

Coffee table top finished

Dry fitting the top.

Stained top

Then I cut the boards to size, using the old tops as a template. I used 3/4 in poplar for these tables. I really like poplar. It’s cheaper than oak, and you get these beautiful hues of green, gold, and tan in the wood. You have to match the boards up to get a consistent pattern. I joined everything together with a Kreg pocket hole jig. After that, a little stain and paste wax and the top is done.

Finished

We painted the bottoms of the tables, and put them back in the living room. It seems like every week we get more and more confident on tackling more challenging builds. As our experience grows, we find better ways in dealing with the issues that come up. I guess that’s a good metaphor for everything in life. Oh well, I hope you enjoyed this weeks project, see you next week.

5 Comments

  1. Pingback: Shadow Box | DIY Craft Addiction

  2. Tonya says

    What color and brand is the stain you used? we are making a farmhouse table just like your coffee table/end table and we tried Douglas Fir and it wouldn’t take the stain right. I got a sample of poplar and tried gel stain and love how it looks, but want the color you did.

    • rmc05b says

      We used Minwax Dark Walnut stain. I haven’t been able to find this color in Gel stain, but they do have regular walnut.

Leave a comment